About Us

The University of KwaZulu Natal Libraries encompasses five campus libraries and a number of branch libraries:

  • Edminson Library, Edgewood
  • EG Malherbe Library, Barrie Biermann Architecture Library, Eleanor Bonnar Music Library and GMJ Sweeney Law Library, Howard College
  • Medical Library, Victor Daitz Library HIV/AIDS Information Gateway, Medical School
  • Cecil Renaud Main Library, Law Library, Life Sciences Library, Pietermaritzburg
  • Main Library, Joe Ryan Dentistry Library, Westville

and four special collections of regional and national interest:

  • Alan Paton Centre and Struggle Archives in Pietermaritzburg
  • Centre for African Literary Studies (CALS) in Pietermaritzburg
  • Gandhi-Luthuli Documentation Centre in Westville
  • Killie Campbell Africana Library in Durban
  • University Archives in Pietermaritzburg

Together, the libraries contain more than 1.4 million volumes of journals, books, theses, reports and other print media. In addition there is an audiovisual collection and access to a growing number of electronic resources. Electronic journals can be accessed through library subscriptions to journals and databases. Electronic books are also available.

October 2023